If you follow me on social media then you have seen many post of me enjoying many of the 4 Leaf by Oscar cigars. When I first saw them I thought it was a gimmick with the crazy looking tobacco leaf wrapper replacing the cellophane but I figured what the hell, I want something new and I am really glad I did! They are available in Connecticut, Maduro, Cojoro, and Sumatra. After trying my first one I immediately went online and ordered 2 4 pack samplers. If you are looking for them, you can try Famous Smoke Shop and Leaf and Bean (where they originated) have them and they so ship.

Ironically enough, on our trip to Nashville I found the new Oscar Habano and on our way back we stopped off at Leaf and Bean and they didn’t have any. Go figure.

So without further ado, here it goes:

Oscar Habano by Oscar Valladares Tobacco Co.

Country of origin: Honduras

Wrapper: Ecuador Habano

Binder: Honduras

Filler: Honduras and Nicaragua

Size: 5 x 50 Strength: Full

20161126_132612-011If you are a fan of the Leaf by Oscar Maduro, then you really should try this stick. Coming off the success of that line, this blend is sure to be a winner. It is packaged in a green candela sleeve instead of cellophane much like the Leaf. Removing the sleeve reveals a dark brown Ecuadorian Habano wrapper with a classic looking turquoise and gold trimmed band about mid-way up the cigar, and some nice veins. The foot smells of leather, earth and spice. I decided to use my Xikar hole punch on this one and turned out to be a good call. Nice cold draw reveals notes of earth, cocoa and spice. I used matches to get it started and followed up with a dual torch flame to finish.

Immediately my palate is hit with a combo of earth, cocoa, and spice. This is ramped up a good bit from the Leaf Maduro for sure. It produced tons of thick, white smoke, the draw is perfect and the burn is sharp. Ash held easily for more than 1 inch.

The second third brings more of a complex with hints of earth, spice, cedar, pepper and cocoa. This evens the cigar out a bit and it is smooth and not as harsh as one would expect from a full bodied cigar.

The final third holds more black pepper with most of the same notes as the second third. It is still very smooth and tasty, producing a ton of smoke and the draw and burn are both still excellent. I am really enjoying this smoke and I find myself not wanting to let it sit for very long. You can definitely tell that the Nicaraguan filler adds a bit of pepper and a bit of a punch to this cigar compared to the Leaf Maduro. I can see this cigar being a homerun for the brand. If you are a full bodied fan, I highly recommend trying this cigar. This is a box worthy cigar for me and I would smoke it in my rotation.

I didn’t take an ending pic as I got caught up enjoying it but I nubbed it. Less than 1 inch for sure and still good all the way to the end.

The only place I know for sure that has them is Smokers Abby in Nashville.

http://smokersabbey.squarespace.com/

 

So there it is. A great cigar to experience. Feel free to leave your thoughts, comments, or reviews. Until next time…Peace!

 

 

