So this is my third review of Felix Assouline. I typically don’t do so many reviews back to back but the opportunity presented itself and I took advantage of it. The thing about FAC cigars is that each cigar is very  different from the others so getting 6 different cigars makes it interesting. I was going to review a different brand but the first 2 FAC’s I had were so good I had to keep it going. With that said, I present the Havana Sunrise Reserve Blaze. This cigar is available in 5 sizes and is priced nicely between $5 and $8.00. This price point is fantastic for a cigar of this quality.

The Havana Sunrise Reserve Blaze is a 56 x 6 Medium to Full bodied, Nicaraguan cigar with a Habano Criollo 98′ wrapper, Indonesian binder and the Nicaragua / Honduras filler. It is  a box pressed cigar that is a nice cocoa brown with small veins and tight seams.

I pick up notes of barnyard hay, wood and cocoa, almost like dark chocolate from the foot. Going with my usual straight guillotine cut and matches to start with a dual torch to finish toasting the foot we are off and running with this one.

First third: Right off the bat I am met with a perfect, easy draw that allows tons of smoke into my palate and I am hit with a flood of pepper! Wow! This has some bite to it and being from Louisiana, I absolutely love the spice. Tons of thick, white smoke come off of this cigar as I work through the first few puffs. The pepper remain but cocoa and some leather balance it out nicely. The weather was absolutely beautiful outside, sunny and about 45 degrees Fahrenheit.

The transition into the second third brings the same spicy, woodsy blend with hints of leather hints and a touch of coffee or espresso possibly. As I move into the second third a bit more, there is more of a woodsy profile (oak maybe) but the blend remains complex and flavorful. Still picking up pepper but not as prominent.

As I move into the final third, the burn has been sharp, ash has been holding over 1 1/2 inches even with a slight breeze and it produces a large amount of white smoke with each puff. The draw is still perfect and easy. I still have that peppery, woodsy profile with hints of leather and earth. The changes were not dramatic and the original flavor profile stayed with this cigar throughout the 1 hour 25 minutes.

Overall, I really loved the heat and spice profile from this stick. The pepper was a nice change of pace and made this cigar stand out. I found it easy to smoke, medium to full strength with a full flavor profile. If you do not like spice or pepper, DO NOT smoke this cigar. You will not enjoy it. On the other hand, if you want something bold but not too strong with a great flavor and some heat, look no further. The Blaze stand up to its name and for me is easily a box worthy cigar that I would put into my rotation. As you can see from the pic, I didn’t want to put it down.

20161204_141005-011

Another top notch cigar by Felix Assouline. I can’t believe it took me so long to come around to them, but there is no turning back from here. This company has easily jumped into my top 5 cigar manufactures. If you have not tried them, put them on your Christmas wish list, or just treat yourself to one or two. You can thank me later.

http://felixassouline.com/store/ Just in case you want to take me up on that sampler offer http://felixassouline.com/store/Robusto-Perfecto.html

Hope you enjoyed the review. Feel free to comment, ask questions or drop your own review experience here. Until next time, long ashes and full glasses. Peace

20161204_125023-011received_10211672543757262-011

