Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukah and all the other many holiday greetings that we celebrate. Hope everyone had a great weekend with friends and family. I was home alone as I sent my wife and son to Louisiana to be with family and our daughter that moved back in the spring to attend school. Being an adult sucks sometimes but it was worth it seeing the photos and hearing the happiness in their voices. This is also why I have the free time to do a review on Christmas. I am not THAT dedicated. Lol

Anyway, awhile back I had a company start following me on Instagram so I followed back. I saw them posting from time to time, and as I got the blog up and running I reached out to them and asked if they would be interested in being featured here. As they are growing and recently released their cigars, I intend to do a piece on the brand and the people behind it. In the meantime, they were nice enough to send me a 3 pack sampler to review for them. That is always a very humbling thing for me and I truly appreciate it.

I received the RC Light, RC Medium, and the Signature yesterday (Merry Christmas to me!) and I couldn’t wait to try them. I decided to give them a night in the humidor to warm up because they spent some time traveling from Las Vegas to the much cooler Northeast. This factor will come into play during my review. Today was sunny, in the high 40’s which is warmer than it has been here so I decided to start with the RC Light.

The Rebel Cigar (RC) Light – 6 x 52 size

The company included a nice folding card with info about the company and the cigars. The cards states the cigars “are a mix of leaves from remote regions of Nicaragua and the Dominican Republic. Infused with 100% premium Cuban-seed filler and accompanied by a Light Nicaraguan Habano Claro leaf wrapper.”

20161225_120856_001-011

The cigar is medium brown in color with small veins and the seams are slightly raised. It feels firm with no soft spots. The band is black with gold and a deep red (maroon) Cowboy hat, mustache and cigar logo.I picked up notes of really good tobacco, straw and a sweet cocoa off the foot. I used a straight guillotine cut and the cold draw was open with a little resistance. I picked up some earthy barnyard notes mixed with tobacco.

I used a match to get things started and it lit very easily and tons of thick, white smoke poured from this cigar. Once I got it nice and toasted, the first puff produced some pepper spice that hit the back of my palate. I did not expect this as I didn’t pick up any of that from the foot. The next couple of puffs revealed some leathery earthy notes with some pepper and a subtle cocoa in the background. First impression was impressive. Great draw, tons of smoke, a solid and complex flavor profile. As I moved into the first third a bit more, the pepper really toned down a lot and a subtle woodsy (oak/cedar mix possibly) came into the mix. Hopefully this is a sign of things to come because it is very pleasant.

20161225_134522-011

As stated prior, coming from Las Vegas into the colder North presented some minor issues which is not uncommon. The cold temp can cause the leaves to tighten up a bit and there were some minor breaking in the wrapper. It was also a bit windy and the burn was slightly jagged. I attribute both of these issues to the climate and not the cigar. The ash held almost the entire length of until a nice gust of wind removed it for me. The construction of this cigar is solid.

The second third brought exactly what I hoped. The woodsy flavor that started to appear really takes front and center now and adds to the complexity of the blend. There is still that earthy element with a light cocoa mix. So far this is a medium bodied, full flavored cigar. I am really finding it hard to put it down and the blend really has me intrigued by what is offered. The wood profile really blends well. The ash is over 1 inch and holding strong. It is white/grey and flaky. The draw tightened up just a touch offering just the right amount of resistance. This could be from the cold also. Either way, its still a nice, easy draw and this cigar is still producing a lot of smoke.

20161225_140915-011

As I move into the final third, the pepper spice makes a nice return. A few spots were a slight bit harsh but I attribute that to me smoking away like a crack fiend and not giving this cigar time to rest. 2 reasons for that…1) the cigar is REALLY good 2) it’s in the 40’s and I have been out here almost 2 hours! The cigar ends with the same profile it started with. A bit of spice mixed with the other great flavors mentioned. The final third moved into the medium-med/full range but stayed very smooth.

20161225_143817-011

Overall thoughts. I wasn’t really sure what to expect going into this review. What I came away with is that this is a great cigar. Solid construction, great performance, complex and flavorful profile, medium to med/full strength that is smooth throughout. This was a very enjoyable cigar that lasted right at the 2 hour mark even with me puffing away on it. This tells you about the construction of the cigar. Even with that amount of air flowing through it, it stayed cool and the burn lasted. No touchups were needed. The burn line was slightly jagged but again, I am outside on a windy day.

The price point on the RC Series runs $8.00 and the Signature Series is priced at $12. $8 for a 6×52 of this caliber and size is very fair. I would spend that much for this stick and feel good about it knowing what I am getting. I highly recommend trying this cigar and I look forward to reviewing the next 2. The 52 is a bigger ring gauge than I typically smoke so I hope they look to bring in some different sizes as they grow. This is a solid cigar and I would certainly smoke this cigar in my rotation. Very nicely done Rebel Cigar. Much success in the future!

If you are interested in checking them out or placing an order, please visit www.therebelcigar.com

As always friends, your thoughts, comments and reviews are welcome. Next time we have “Something Special” to review. Long ashes and full glasses. May you all have a very Merry Christmas.

20161225_144845-011  20161225_134911-01[1].jpeg

