Happy 2017 everyone. Hope everyone had a safe and Happy celebration with friends and family. 2016 was a year with a lot of changes, a lot of tragic events across the globe, new FDA regulations on the cigar industry, one of the craziest election seasons in the history of the free world, and a year of some of the best cigars in the world being released. A lot of new companies launched, many existing companies sped up releases to get around some of the new regulations bringing some of the best blends into the market. I tried many new brands and even more new cigars this year than in previous years. This was for a number of reasons. 1) I was really excited about a lot of the new releases 2) My palate has developed enough that I had a much better understanding of what I was actually experiencing 3) I really fell hard for boutique brands and trying cigars that don’t get much exposure. All of these things really played into my cigar buying, smoking and enjoying cigars this year more than ever. Being a relatively new smoker in the sense that I only got into it about 3 years ago and really into it less than 2 years I have really advanced my expectations and far too often I found myself disappointed by the major name brand releases.

With all that said, (if you follow me you have read this before) I decided to dedicate this blog to those smaller up and coming brands that need a platform and hopefully get them some exposure. I don’t ask for anything other than spreading the word about this page and to provide me some feedback. The response so far has been great and I am very thankful for that. I hope that 2017 brings some great things for this blog and specifically the companies, people and cigars I review here. I try to be honest and as descriptive as my palate allows me to be.

One of the companies that I reached out to about the page was The Rebel Cigar company. You can read my first review of the Rebel RC Light here also. They were nice enough to send me 1 of each of their blends to try and review.

The RC Medium 6 x 52 size

20161230_123709-011

This is the second of the 3 I received. The product information card they sent states that their cigars feature “Nicaraguan and Dominican tobaccos infused with 100% premium Cuban-seed filler. The RC Medium Cigar is wrapped in a Dark Nicaraguan Habano Oscuro Leaf”. This is a very nice looking cigar that is a nice, dark brown with a rugged wrapper featuring nice veins. There was a minor defect in the cap which I cut with 0 issues (this was likely from the shock of the change in climate and shipping). The cigar feels light in my hand with no soft spots. Construction is solid and I pick up notes of semi-sweet cocoa, hay and earth from the foot.

I used a v-cut and the cold draw brings heavy notes of straw with a hint of cocoa. It was very interesting how much straw/hay it presented. I used a match to get things started and once toasted I picked up some nice red pepper that hit my palate followed by a very nice woodsy profile. This cigar has a very earthy feel to it and is producing some nice white smoke. The flavor profile is very natural with a bit of spice that tones down pretty rapidly moving through the first third. Draw and burn are both very good. This is a medium bodied cigar.

20161231_1421211

As I move into the second third the transition is very subtle with more of the cocoa mixed with a nice wood flavor. It is likely cedar but it is smoky and mixes very nicely with the sweetness of the semi-sweet cocoa. The profile really does not change all that much, and for me that is great. As I stated before, this misconception that a cigar needs these huge flavor transitions at every third is ridiculous to me. I actually prefer consistency over huge shifts. This cigar, so far is very consistent. If you like the first third of this cigar, you will enjoy it throughout. If you don’t, you won’t find much else in regards to major changes. The ash is holding over 1 inch and is grey in color. The burn is a little jagged but I am outdoors in low 40 degree temps with a breeze so this is going to effect the performance. When I go into my heated garage, it tends to straighten out but the heat and lack of humidity really makes it starve for air. Admittedly these are less than ideal conditions to do a true review in regards to performance. Because the climate I am in is so harsh on cigars I always make it a point to state this fact. When you see pictures and it looks jagged, this is rarely (almost never) due to the construction of the cigar. Moving on.

20161231_1424501

The final third brought more of the same with the exception of the return of the red pepper spice coming to the forefront with the cocoa taking a backseat but really mixing into a really nice smooth finish. The smoky wood profile really makes a statement throughout this cigar as the dominant flavor for me. That’s the beautiful thing about cigars, they are unique to the individual smoking it. My perfect 10 may very well be the worse cigar you ever smoked so always keep that in mind when you try a cigar based on a review.

20161231_1534231

Overall, this was a solid cigar that was medium in strength and flavor profile. The construction was great, nice open draw, good burn that required no touch-ups with a very natural profile. It was very woodsy with just the right amount of spice and subtle sweetness. The blend was very consistent throughout with no major swings or shifts from one third to the next. I think newer smokers would enjoy this cigar which is a step up from milder smokes but the flavor is enough that more advance smokers would still enjoy it. This is a great choice for a morning smoke with coffee or perfect for a nice lunchtime smoke. I really enjoyed this cigar and I would certainly smoke it again. So far 2 for 2 from Rebel Cigar in my book. At an $8.00 price point, this is a great looking, great performing, intriguing cigar that will satisfy a variety of smokers from new to old.

20161230_123843-011 20161230_123759-011

I hope you enjoyed this review. As always, comments, suggestions and your thoughts are always welcomed. I encourage you to check out https://www.therebelcigar.com/ for more information. Until next time, long ashes and full glasses friends. Peace.

