Hope everyone is off to a great new year and staying warm. I read that there was snow on the ground in 49 states. Crazy. Here in Northeast Pa it is your typical Jan. Temps have been in the teens for over a week with a little snow and wind chills in single digits or in the negative. This of course means the heaters are going around the clock and the air inside is very dry. Humidity for cigars in this climate is very tricky. I for one am ready to pack up and move further south. Birds are much smarter than us, they know when to head south!

Tonight I decided to brave the extremely cold temps and got the heater up cranked up in the garage for a bit so I would not become a frozen statue until Spring. I decided it was time to try the third and final cigar I received from The Rebel Cigar company. The Signature series is there premier cigar and looking at this cigar I can see why. This cigar has a very elegant look and feel to it. I love the twister style with the medium and dark brown swirling wrapper.

20170110_151618-011

The RC Signature – 6 x 52

An intriguing, complex, and hand-rolled mix of leaves derived from the remote regions of Nicaragua and the Dominican Republic. Infused with 100% premium Cuban-seed filler, our Rebel Cigars are flawless creations accompanied by dark and light Nicaraguan Habano wrappers, for an exotic and dangerously sophisticated experience.” (Taken from The Rebel Cigar website)

20170110_151019-011

The cigar feels light and firm throughout with no soft spots. It smells of barnyard hay, cedar and earth. Off the foot I pick up more of the same with a subtle semi-sweet cocoa. The combination of the light and dark Nicaraguan wrapper really comes together to make a very nice looking cigar.

I use a straight guillotine cut and the cold draw offers a little resistance and I get notes of cedar, hay, and earth. I used wooden matches to get things started and finished with a dual flame torch lighter. Once I got it nice and toasted the initial draw provides me with a very strong cedar wood profile and a little sweetness. As I move into it a little, the straw makes an appearance. The strength is on the medium side with a nice flavor profile. It is very woodsy with a nice smooth finish. The first third performs well with the draw still offering some resistance but not too tight, the ash is holding well and the burn is even.

As noted in other reviews, the extreme cold here plays hell on cigars and is far less than ideal for them. As a result of being in a propane heated garage the burn line is affected and when I go outside it straightens out very nicely however the brutal cold causes some issues with cracking because it is just far to dry and far too cold. Anyone that smokes in the cold knows what I am dealing with. I don’t care what cigar you have and what temp and humidity you store them at, once they get into single digit dry climates, there will be issues. This was no different. My cigars are kept in a humidor in an interior closet in the winter with a humidifier and typically stays at a constant 68 to 70 degrees with 69 to 71% humidity. I am very meticulous about caring for my investments. The issues I experienced with this cigar say nothing about the quality or construction of the cigar.

All that said, I did experience some small cracks in the wrapper. Nothing serious and it only effected the cosmetics of the cigar. I have mentioned before that I should go to a local lounge but I am pretty methodical about how and where I do reviews. I find doing reviews in a smoke filled lounge is not ideal as the other cigars tend to find their way into the cigar I am reviewing and it doesn’t allow for an accurate tasting experience.

Enough about the climate issues, I’m turning into John Kerry…Geez. As I made my way through the second and last third of this cigar not much changed. The flavor profile stayed very steady and consistent throughout with certain profiles taking the forefront and then falling back when another took its place. The main flavors of cedar, smoky wood, hay, earth and cocoa stayed consistent. I personally would have enjoyed a little pepper or spice blended into this to really open the profile up a bit more but that is only my personal preference. I am a big fan of spice and pepper. That’s my Louisiana heritage working it’s way in. Cayenne and spice are at the heart of everything we do so I never shy away from pepper and spice in a cigar. I understand that not everyone likes that. For many of you this blend will be perfect.

20170110_152059-011

Overall thoughts. This was a nice, smooth, well constructed medium bodied cigar that had a very woodsy flavor profile and mixed well with the other notes I described. I paired this cigar with water but this cigar would pair very well with a great bourbon, rum or scotch. Any of these would add that spice I mentioned and would really bring out the flavors in both the liquor and the cigar. The look of this cigar is elegant, and luxurious. I could easily see this being a go to smoke in a nice after dinner setting with cigars and drinks. It is mild enough so that you could smoke more than one and it looks terrific. Great for social gatherings or as a after dinner smoke. I enjoyed this cigar a lot. Smoke time was right at 2 hours. This is where that resistance in the draw comes into play. It never allowed the cigar to get really hot and burned nicely.

20170110_184704-011

So that completes the Rebel Cigar series for me. Overall, for a company new to the market they have potential. The only recommendations I would offer (as a consumer) is offer different sizes at some point and I would play around with the band colors. One thing I had a hard time with was taking a picture that showcased the brand and cigar name and it was always a challenge regardless of lighting. The dark red or maroon makes it very hard to display and the light always seems to reflect and takes away from the shot. As a new company, the one thing you want is attention and to stand out. If I took this band off in a social setting, someone would have to pick it up and find the right lighting to figure out what it was. The cigars themselves are really good. The price point for the size are good. The construction is solid, the performance is great, the flavor profiles are very consistent. Don’t expect radical changes throughout. The Light, Medium and Signature by Rebel are worth trying for sure. Visit them at https://www.therebelcigar.com/

20170110_151534-011 20170110_151220-011

I would like to thank Rebel for giving me the opportunity to review their products and I wish them much success on their journey into this wild and crazy market. I think they will do fine with the right exposure.

I hope you enjoyed the review and I look forward to your comments and reviews if you care to submit them. Until next time friends, as always, long ashes and full glasses. Peace.

“The purpose of this review is to provide a true, honest opinion based on my own experience. I am under no obligation to provide favorable reviews or feedback for this product and receive no compensation for doing so.”

 

 

 

 

 

