RomaCraft is a joint project from Skip Martin and Mike Rosales. If you know RomaCraft, you know the CroMagnon, and the Aquitaine is the sister line of that. The Mode 5 comes in both the CroMagnon and Aquatine lines. The CroMagnon has a black band and the Aquitaine has a brown band. Confused yet? I have not tried the CroMagnon but I certainly have it on my list. If you follow my blog you know that I have been trying the Whiskey Rebellion line from RomaCraft and I wanted to explore more of what they have to offer.

Let’s jump right in and explore the Aquitaine Mode 5 Short Perfecto.

 

Blend Profile:

Wrapper: Ecuadorian Habano Ligero

Binder: Cameroon

Filler: Nicaragua (Condega, Esteli & Pueblo Nuevo)

Size: 5×50

Vitola: Short Perfecto

Factory: Fabrica de Tabacos Nica Sueno

Appearance: The color is a leather brown with a nice oily sheen. The brown lettering on top of the brown band really make it hard to read. The cigar is firm with no soft spots and feels light in my hand. There are small veins throughout and a tight seam but overall it is a rugged looking stick.

20170325_134121-01[1]

 

Pre-Light: I pick up notes of barnyard, hay, and cedar on the wrapper. From the foot I pick up a nice sweetness, like a dried fruit and a hint of pepper. I use a straight guillotine cut to open the cap and the cold draw is very open with little resistance. I pick up some pepper and wood, mostly cedar.

I used a match to kick this off and finished roasting the foot with a dual flame torch. Right off the jump I am hit with a big blast of black pepper that almost makes me cough. I am a huge pepper and spice fan but I did not expect that! The draw is open and it floods my mouth with a TON of thick white smoke. The amount of smoke pouring off of this cigar is impressive. Once I recovered from the pepper blast, a couple of pulls in I start to pick up on a very nice cedar and a subtle sweetness that I really can’t pinpoint.  I have seen a few other reviews and they mentioned sourdough but I am not sure that is what I am getting. As I move a little more into the first third, the pepper really dies off, to my personal disappointment, and I pick up more cedar and a little coffee note. The burn is a little jagged and the draw is still very open.

20170325_140240-0111.jpeg

 

As I transition into the second third, it’s really pretty much a continuation of the end of the first third. A lot of cedar, a hint of sweetness and coffee. Occasionally I pick up a little pepper here and there. The smoke production is still very impressive. The ash is holding tight and is most of the first third before it falls off.

20170325_141019-0111.jpeg

 

The final third produced a return of the black pepper and it mixed very well with the prominent cedar and the subtle sweetness. I would have liked this blend to have remained throughout the entire cigar, but that’s just me. The smoke production from this cigar is just crazy. I found the strength to be a touch above medium but not quite full and the body to be very close to the same. It is a full flavor, very consistent stick. Heavy on cedar and pepper at times but the sweetness really tones it down.

20170325_145452-01[1]

 

Overall I really enjoyed this cigar. I wan’t sure what to expect from it, but the blend works well. I am a big pepper fan and although heavy on pepper at the start, it really falls off quickly and I would have liked more of that. The cedar stays pretty much the primary flavor with other notes mixed in. If you are a fan of thick, heavy smoke clouds or want to practice blowing smoke rings, this is your cigar. I paired this cigar with water but I think a nice bourbon, scotch, or spiced rum would really enhance the experience.

Total smoke time was an impressive 1 hour 25 minutes.

 

I think this is a cigar that everyone would enjoy. It is just over a medium so it’s not to overbearing for beginners but has enough to offer the more advanced smokers. For the price point ($6.80 at Famous Smoke Shop) this cigar is a great addition to any humidor. I would definitely purchase and smoke this cigar again.

There is a RomaCraft event coming up soon at Famous Smoke Shop for those of you that live in the NE.

So that’s it. The RomaCraft Aquitaine Mode 5 review is a wrap. I hope you enjoyed it. As always, feel free to leave your comments, reviews or thoughts here. Until next time, long ashes and full glasses friends. Peace.

20170325_134102-01[1]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

