Ever since they were released, I have been on the hunt to locate and pick up some of the Black Label Trading Company Deliverance Nocturne. My local shop didn’t get any and others sold out so I was thrilled to see these at Ford on Fifth in AZ this week.

bltc-podcast

Deliverance – The action of being set free. As with all of the BLTC cigar names, they are always very fitting to the feel of the cigar. This one is no different. James and Angela Brown have been cranking out some of the best blends to hit the market over the past few years but seem to really have hit their stride over the past year or so. So many great releases coming from the BLTC Label and also the Blk_Wks Studio (Black Works Studio) brand. I am constantly impressed with the quality and consistency of their products. Having met James last year, he told me big things were in the works and this certainly held true. If you aren’t familiar with the brand, I encourage you to take a look. You wont find the same type of feel from a traditional cigar company. The image is dark, grunge, fresh, new and edgy. Personally that is what drove me to them, then I smoked some of their cigars and I was sold. Check out the website http://blacklabeltrading.com/blog/ Stop by their merchandise store as well because they have some of the coolest gear and accessories in the industry. The zippo lighter and cutter are on my list of wants for sure!

With that being said, let’s jump into this long awaited cigar and see what we get.

Blend Profile:

Wrapper: Pennsylvania Broadleaf

Binder: Nicaraguan Habano

Filler: Nicaraguan and Pennsylvania

Origin: Fabrica Oveja Negra (Nicaragua)

Size: 4 3/4 x 40 x 56 Short Salomon

Appearance: Very unique baseball bat shape. Dark brown with nice veins and very tight seams. It is oily with a nice sheen. The band is always one of the strong points of any BLTC cigar. The very cool praying skeleton with the ornate design black and white design just screams of grunge and goth. There are great stories behind the name and I am sure this one is no different. I am sure the design holds meaning to the name as well. I have my own opinion of it but I don’t want to speculate. The foot is flat and a really prominent round cap.20170409_104424-01[1]

Pre-light: The cigar feels nice in the hand. Even with its unique shape, it doesn’t feel awkward to hold. The cigar is firm with no soft spots that I feel. I pick up a few faint notes from the body and foot but not much is revealed.

20170409_104350-01[1]                       20170409_104403-01[1]

Cold Draw: I used a straight cut and the draw offers some resistance. I pick up a few notes of pepper and tobacco with a hint of bitter cocoa. 20170409_104338-01[1]

1st Third: I got things going with my dual torch lighter and I pick up pepper, sweet cocoa and cedar wood. The draw offers resistance but not super hard to pull through. It is a unique blend that is rather hard to identify. At least for me. As I move more into it, pepper is definitely there but the wood mixes with a sweetness that I cannot pinpoint. The burn is a little jagged and the ash is holding on tight. Interesting blend that is starting out medium bodied. I am sure that will change soon.

20170409_131120-01[1]

 

2nd Third: More cedar and a earthy, grassy notes take shape. It is not hay but certainly more of a grassy flavor. I am still getting pepper notes and it is trending more towards a full strength smoke. The draw is still a little tight but given its size and shape, too full of a draw and it would likely burn hot and too fast. The blend has not changed much and it is still pretty complex to sort the specific notes I am getting.

20170409_141200-01[1].jpg

Final Third: I find the burn slowing a bit and touch it up a little. The draw has continued to offer some resistance and I am not getting much smoke from the pull. I am getting more cedar, the grassy notes are almost that of clove or mild mint leaf maybe. There is an earthiness towards the later part of the cigar that takes the forefront. The strength has certainly stepped up like I expected it would. Don’t go too fast with this one.

20170409_143348-01[1].jpg

Final Thoughts: As a big fan of BLTC I had very high expectations for this cigar. The problem with so many great cigars that just continue to come out of Fabrica Oveja Negra is that the bar just keeps getting set higher and higher. For me, this was not my favorite cigar from Black Label. I would not go as far as to say it wasn’t good or enjoyable, it just wasn’t my favorite blend.

That being said, it is still a really good smoke and I encourage you to pick one up and give it a try. Especially if you are not familiar with the brand, you may find this is one of the best smokes you have ever had. That is exactly what happened to me when I tried my first BLTC cigar and then they just kept getting better and better. James and Angela do not make a bad cigar. They just don’t.

The Deliverance Nocturne is complex with a number of different things going on. I wouldn’t advise beginners to jump feet first into this cigar but certainly take your time and give it a couple of hours. It doesn’t look like it would take that long to smoke but it does, and it packs a punch. More advanced smokers would enjoy this cigar as well. No crazy transitions or weird changes. I found the draw to be a little bit tight for my personal liking but nothing I had to really struggle with. The burn was a little jagged but did settle in and burned evenly. I needed one small touch up which was partially my fault. As the cigar tapers down in size it required a little bit more attention than I gave it. After that it was fine.

I would like to compare the Salomon Snub Nose (6 1/4 x 36 x 56) and the Perfecto to really get a better feel for the blend and compare them equally. Would I smoke this cigar again, yes. With so many heavy hitters in the line up between BLTC and BLK_WKS, you really cannot go wrong with any of their cigars. The Deliverance Nocturne is worth checking out.

Pairings: I paired this cigar with high quality H20 since it was my first time trying it. Pair this with Spiced Rum, Whiskey, Bourbon or Scotch and you better be on your A game. This one hits back and I could see it really giving some problems if you don’t take your time with it. I think it would be a great cigar with a nice red wine as well. That is something I have started doing recently and I must say that I didn’t think of the combo as something I would like, but I do and it works out nicely.

I hope you enjoyed the review. Feel free to leave your thoughts, comments and reviews here. I would love to hear what other people thought about this cigar.

Until next time, long ashes and full glasses friends. Peace.

“The purpose of this review is to provide a true, honest opinion based on my own experience. I am under no obligation to provide favorable feedback for this product and receive no compensation for doing so. This cigar was purchased by me, for my own enjoyment.”

 

 

