So today we take a look at a new cigar for me. I have seen Aging Room Cigars around different places but never really made it onto my radar. I’m not exactly sure why.

“We are not producing cigars for everyone.  We are introducing new blends for educated consumers that are looking for cigars with complexity and character.”

Rafael Nodal (Taken from the Aging Room Website)

The Solera method of aging has been used for centuries in the making of wine, sherry, rum and brandy.  Now, for the first time, we are using the Solera system by combining different vintages of tobacco at different stages of the aging process to obtain a fuller flavor and more complex cigar. (Credit AgingRoom.com)

Aging Room has taken the position on a full boutique blend company and when you learn more about them, they have some highly rated cigars in their portfolio. The Aging Room M356 was in the Top 25 Cigars in 2011 and the F55 Concerto was the Number 2 cigar in 2013 by Cigar Aficionado.

I picked up this cigar on the recommendation of my trusted friend Sean at Famous Smoke Shop. For $7.50 I figured why not. So let’s jump right in and see what we come up with.

Blend Profile:

Wrapper: Dominican Sun Grown

Filler: Dominican Habano

Binder: Dominican Habano

Size: Fantastico 5.6 x 54

Appearance: Medium brown with small veins and tight seams. This is a very full cigar with some weight to it. It is very firm with no soft spots. I am hoping it is not too full and leads to a split or crack in the wrapper. The 2 bright yellow bands really stand out. One covers most of the cigar with the word SOLERA running horizontal down the cigar. The second band has Aging Room on it. Open foot with a pigtail cap.

20170410_115536-01[1].jpg

Pre-Light: After removing the large band, I pick up notes of pepper, wood, and a unique sweetness that I cannot really pinpoint. The foot offers more of the same with a earthy, sweet, pepper and cedar. It is an interesting combination that is really intriguing. I hope I pick up some of these notes once I light it.

Cold Draw: I picked up notes of dry hay or straw, pepper and earth after using my V-cut to open the pigtail cap.

20170410_115604-01[1]                                       20170410_115617-01[1]

First Third: I used a dual flame torch to kick things off because the wind is ridiculous today. Temps are great for early April in Pa and the sun is shining bright but the wind is crazy! Once I get things toasted nicely I pull in a nice open draw with a little bit of resistance and I get a citrus like bitterness mixed with strong cedar wood and a mix of what I can only describe as dried fruit and cocoa. This is a complex smoke. I am getting a lot of smoke off of this cigar. Every now and then I get brief hints of black pepper added to the mix. The ash is super flaky and is blowing all over everything. As I move more into the first inch or so, this is a good medium strength, complex cigar. A very nice smooth blend that keeps you coming back to it.

20170410_123838-01[1]

 

Second Third: Making the transition into the half way mark I get more of a woodsy blend, cedar and maybe oak mixed with a sweet almost mocha like note. Unfortunately the wrapper did split on me but other than not looking great, it smoked just fine and burned with no issues. The flaky ash issue continued and with the wind it is swirling all around me. I wouldn’t want this happening in a social setting for sure but for me at home on my back deck, it’s not a big deal.

20170410_124553-01[1]

Final Third: Moving in to the last third, I get more of a woodsy, charred, nutty blend. It is a different smoke that what I first started with but it has been an enjoyable, complex blend throughout. I am not a big fan of huge flavor changes or transitions but this one works. It has remained a medium strength stick throughout. The draw has remained open and produces a lot of smoke. The burn has been a bit off but with the winds we are having today, it is to be expected. No touch ups were really needed other than to straighten out what the wind is messing with even with a split wrapper.

20170410_132933-01[1]

Final Thoughts: I really didn’t know what to expect from this cigar or Aging Room. It started out very sweet, borderline infused but not quite, then moved into a woodsy cedar and finished with a charred nutty blend. There is a subtle sweetness and some pepper that appear here and there. Overall this was a complex, enjoyable smoke. I had some wrapper issues and the flaky ash was a bit annoying but overall, I really liked this cigar. At the price point around $7.50, I would certainly smoke it again. I think it would be a great cigar for beginners to advanced smokers. It is mild enough but complex enough to hold your interest. This is a great morning cigar to pair with a cup of coffee or easy after dinner smoke.

Pairing: I paired this with water as always when I try a cigar for the first time. I am boring I know, but I do things the same way for a reason. It gives me the truest representation of the cigar as a stand alone without any foreign flavors added into the mix. I would pair this with coffee, red wine, and probably a easy sipping bourbon like Angels Envy Port or Rum blend.

I picked this one up at Famous Smoke Shop (https://www.famous-smoke.com)like I said. As always, my man Sean didn’t steer me wrong. The crew there take great care of me and know what I like. Tyler, Sean, Allie and Nicole are truly great at what they do. They are also great people so that always makes the experience fun.

I hoped you enjoyed the review. Feel free to drop some comments, thoughts, or your own review here. I love to hear what other people thought of it. Until next time, Long ashes and Full glasses friends. Peace!

“The purpose of this review is to provide a true, honest opinion based on my own experience. I am under no obligation to provide favorable feedback for this product and receive no compensation for doing so. This cigar was purchased by me, for my own enjoyment.”

